Staff Permissions

Modified on Wed, 22 May 2024 at 11:48 AM

Staff Permissions allow you to fully customize the functionality available to particular staff roles within your business. In essence, Staff Permissions control which functions you give staff access to; the Interface Permissions control which modules staff can see.


Note: Every person who uses Pet Sitter Plus will have a "staff" role, even if they are an Admin and don't work in the field. They need a unique email address and password to log in, and their permissions are set individually in their staff record.



What do the Staff Permissions do?

Navigation: Admin > Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions


What can this staff see?


Enable staff to see Client Information

Any staff with this access can now view client information with additional options to control which clients staff can see:
  • ALL clients
  • Only when staff is a Sitter
  • Only when staff is a Primary Sitter
  • Only when staff is assigned the service

To allow staff to see client information:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.




Hide Restricted Fields from their Interface

You can "hide" information from any staff member who is not authorized to see the sensitive information.

When you enable “Cannot see restricted fields”, any Pages, Sections or Fields defined as “restricted staff access” (see Custom Fields) are not visible in the staff dashboard when logged in as the staff member.

To hide restricted fields from certain staff:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.




Enable Staff to see Everyone's Time Off

In the Staff Dashboard, you may want to allow staff to see the time off summary for ALL staff. This can be useful to see any conflicts when they want to take time off from work.

To allow staff to see the team's time off summary:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.



What can this staff do?


Allow staff to update Client Information

Any staff with this permission can now view and amend client information with additional options to control which clients staff can see:
  • ALL clients
  • Only when staff is a Sitter
  • Only when staff is a Primary Sitter
  • Only when staff is assigned the service

To allow staff to change client information:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.




Staff can create Client Accounts

Any staff or Admin with this permission can now create a new account for a client BUT they can only complete the rest of the client information and save it if they have the permission Can Update Client Information switched ON.

To allow staff to be able to create a client account:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.




Staff can access Client Scheduling Functions

Provide a staff member with additional permissions to schedule new services, run repeat services, and process service requests via the following options in the client account menu:
  • Orders & Invoices
  • Client Schedule
  • Service Requests
  • Repeat Services

To allow staff to schedule work for clients:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.




Staff Can send Service Reports

Choose which of your staff can send service reports to your clients by enabling or disabling this function.
  • If this permission is switched OFF, the staff member can only create and save the service report allowing an Admin to review, publish and send the report later on.
  • If this permission is switched ON, your staff member can create, publish and send the service report without the need for an Admin to review and send the report at another time.

To allow staff to send service reports to clients:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.




Staff can have work assigned to them

For all staff who are active in the field and need to have work assigned to them. Admins who are purely scheduling for others and don't have any services assigned to them should have this option switched OFF.

Staff who "can be scheduled" will appear in the Staff dropdown when services are being assigned.

To allow staff to be scheduled work:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.




Allow Staff to change their own Schedule

Allows a staff member to edit a service in the Schedule My List View or My Column View. 

Staff will be able to:
  • edit individual or multiple services assigned to them
  • acknowledge and complete multiple services
  • send emails in bulk
  • reset their staff pay 

To allow staff to change their own schedule:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.




Allow Staff to Assign Keys

Many pet sitting businesses like staff to be able to assign or reassign keys from themselves to others in the team. However, you may also have junior staff or new hires who you don't want to have the responsibility to reassign keys. This permission is always switched ON by default when you create a new staff, but you can switch it OFF on an individual basis.

To allow staff to assign keys:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.




Allow Staff to Request Time Off

In their Staff Dashboard, staff have an option to request time off from work. You can choose to switch this permission ON or OFF on an individual basis. Staff must then wait for you to approve (or decline) their request for time off.

You can choose to switch this option OFF for ALL staff if you use an alternative method of recording staff time off.

To allow staff to request time off:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.




Make a Staff record Inactive when they leave

When a staff member leaves your business, this option allows you to make the staff record inactive so it is removed from certain scheduling lists. 

To make a staff inactive or active:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON for "active" and OFF for "inactive."
  • Click Update.




Show Support Widget on Mobile

Subject to Permissions determined by an Administrator, Staff can enable/disable the Pet Sitter Plus Support Widget on a mobile device.

To enable the Support Widget on a mobile device:

Navigation: Admin > Settings > Company Settings 
  • Option 1: To switch on the support widget for ALL staff, Toggle ON "Show Support Widget" and "Show Support Widget on Mobile"
  • Option 2: To allow staff to decide whether they want the Support Widget visible or not, Toggle ON "Show Support Widget" only
  • Option 3: To switch off the Support Widget entirely for Admins & Staff Toggle OFF "Show Support Widget."

Detailed instructions....
 

Disable a Staff Member's Login

When a staff member leaves your business, this option allows you to remove their access to Pet Sitter Plus. 

To disable a staff login:
  • Navigate to: Admin > select the Staff > Permissions > Staff Permissions.
  • Toggle option to ON.
  • Click Update.



Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article